Pulitzer Prize Meaning, Pronunciation, Winners in 2023, Photography

The Pulitzer Prize is given to those who have made significant contributions to newspaper, magazine, and internet journalism, literature, and musical composition in the United States. In 1917, stipulations in the will of Joseph Pulitzer, who had acquired his wealth as a newspaper publisher, created the Pulitzer Prize for Journalism, which Columbia University administers.

Pulitzer Prize

For their coverage of the coronavirus outbreak in India, Reuters photographers Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad Mattoo, Amit Dave, and the late Danish Siddiqui were awarded the Pulitzer Prize for feature photography on Monday, for the first time since 2002.

Awarded for Excellence in newspaper journalism, literary achievements, musical composition
Country United States
Presented by Columbia University
First awarded 1917
Website pulitzer.org

He was slain on July 16 while documenting a conflict between Afghan security forces and Taliban insurgents near a border crossing between Afghanistan and Pakistan. Siddiqui was 38 years old.

According to the committee, the four photographers were granted the prize for their photos of the crisis that “combined intimacy with catastrophe, while affording viewers a heightened feeling of location.” The images were taken throughout the crisis, the panel said.

After the news agency’s photographers captured the scope of India’s Covid-19 epidemic, Alessandra Galloni, the agency’s chief, claimed the world was “jolted awake” to the magnitude of the outbreak.

It is a “tribute to the lasting impact that Danish has made on the world of photojournalism” that his outstanding work has been recognized in this manner, according to Galloni in a statement.

Pulitzer Prize Meaning

Because the Pulitzer Prize is a competitive award, not all relevant works in the media are automatically considered; instead, only those works that have been expressly submitted are considered. (There is a $75 entrance fee for each requested entry category, payable in advance.) Entries must fall into at least one of the designated prize categories, and they cannot merely be accepted into the competition because they are literary or musical. In addition, regardless of their characteristics, works may only be put into a maximum of two categories.

Pulitzer Prize

Each year, the Pulitzer Prize Board selects 102 jurors to serve on 20 distinct juries for the 21 prize categories; one panel makes recommendations for both photographic awards, and one jury makes recommendations for the journalism award. Exceptions are the Public Service, Investigative Reporting, Explanatory Reporting, Feature Writing, and Commentary categories, which each have seven members. All book jury members must have at least three members for the book to be considered for publication.

Pulitzer Price History

According to the author, it was Mihajlo Pupin’s Pulitzer Prize certificate that was made from a recycled Columbia diploma. Newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer left money to Columbia University in his legacy to help the university create a journalism school and the Pulitzer Prize for journalism. According to the budget, the award and scholarships were each worth $250,000. His specifications were “four journalistic prizes, four literary and dramatic honors (including one in education), and four traveling scholarships.”

Following his death on October 29, 1911, the first Pulitzer Prizes were presented on June 4, 1917, to honor his contributions to literature. While Colonel Robert R. McCormick was in charge of the Chicago Tribune at the time, he believed that the Pulitzer Prize was nothing more than a mutual admiration society and should not be taken seriously. As a result, the paper refused to compete for the prize during McCormick’s tenure, which ended in 1961. Since its inception in 1975, the rewards have been administered by the trustees of Columbia University.

Pulitzer Price Winners in 2023

The Washington Post was recognized for its compellingly recounted and vividly portrayed account of the attack on Washington, D.C., on January 6, 2022, which provided the public with complete and accurate knowledge of one of the nation’s worst days in recent history.

Breaking News Reporting

They were given to the Miami Herald’s reporting team to cover the collapse and subsequent deconstruction of the Champlain Towers South condominium complex, which combined clear and compassionate writing with thorough news coverage and accountability reporting.

Investigative Reporting

Awarded to Corey G. Johnson, Rebecca Woolington, and Eli Murray of the Tampa Bay Times for their compelling exposé of highly toxic hazards inside Florida’s only battery recycling plant, which resulted in implementing safety measures to protect workers nearby residents adequately. They received the award on behalf of the Tampa Bay Times.

Explanatory Reporting

In recognition of coverage that highlighted the difficulties of the James Webb Space Telescope construction, which will enable unprecedented astronomical and cosmological research, the Quanta Magazine crew, particularly Natalie Wolchover, received the Award of Excellence.

Local Reporting

For a piercing examination of the city’s long history of the failed building- and fire-safety code enforcement, which allowed scofflaw landlords to commit serious violations that resulted in dozens of avoidable deaths, the Better Government Association and the Chicago Tribune were recognized with the award.

Official Website Click Here
DMER Homepage Click Here

Leave a Comment