IPL teams 2023 names, captains and strength analysis

Started on Saturday, the 15th season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) Twenty20 spectacular gets off when the defending champions Chennai Super Kings take on the Kolkata Knight Riders. Listed below is a breakdown of the ten IPL teams — including two newcomers — that will participate in the world’s wealthiest cricket tournament before the games begin on April 1.

IPL Teams 2023

The TATA IPL 2023 kicked off on March 26 with a match between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) at Mumbai’s legendary Wankhede Stadium. KKR won the match by a margin of six wickets. CSK’s victory against KKR in the Indian Premier League (IPLdebut )’s match brought up memories of the IPL 2022 when they overcame KKR to bring the prestigious IPL trophy back to India.

Ten teams will compete against each other in 74 matches (70 league matches and four play-offs) over 65 days at four sites in Mumbai and Pune in the next Indian Premier League (IPL) season.

Chennai Super Kings

Captain – Ravindra Jadeja

CSK acquired a total of 21 players during the Auction. Deepak Chahar, which cost INR 14 crore, was their most costly acquisition. While they kept the most of their core, they parted ways with several talented players, including Faf du Plessis, Josh Hazlewood, and Shardul Thakur.

Dwaine Pretorius, Adam Milne, Devon Conway, Shivam Dube, Rajvardhan Hangargekar, and Chris Jordan are notable additions to the team. Meanwhile, the Chennai Super Kings are the favorite to win the Indian Premier League (IPL) this year, with a betting odds of 6 to 1.

ipl teams

Mumbai Indians

Captain – Rohit Sharma

The captain of the same name will lead the Indian team in IPL 2023. Mumbai Indian skipper Rohit Sharma has led his team to five IPL championships, and the Mumbaikar will be looking to win a sixth trophy with his team. Rohit will be eager to make a mark with his bat as too, having played 213 matches in the home-grown local Twenty20 competition.

Sunrisers Hyderabad

Captain – Kane Williamson

However, David Warner will head the Sunrisers in 2020, with Kane Williamson taking over as captain in 2023. Williamson will be in charge of the Sunrisers Hyderabad squad this season.

The Sunrisers have won just one IPL championship, and they have reached the finals twice. The Australian cricket squad is also led by Kane, who plays in all three forms.

Royal Challengers Bangalore

Captain – Faf du Plessis

The Royal Challengers Bangalore took a lot of time to unveil their captain for this competition edition. Having seen their top player Virat Kohli stepping down as captain, the Bangalore-based team trusts the experienced South African for this time.

Punjab Kings

Captain – Mayank Agarwal

This year’s IPL auction saw a strong showing from the Punjab-based franchise club. However, it is unclear if they will participate on the field against other IPL teams.

Rahul, the former captain and opening batsman for the Punjab Kings has decided to leave the organization. As a result, the franchise began looking for a replacement for KL Rahul in the lineup.

Gujarat Titans

Captain – Hardik Pandya

Ahead of the IPL auction, the star Indian all-rounder was signed by tournament debutants Gujarat Titans, and he was even named team captain for the new club. His electrifying hitting displays for his former side, the Mumbai Indians, have made him one of the game’s most popular players.

Kolkata Knight Riders

Captain – Shreyas Iyer

In addition to Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings, the Kolkata Knight Riders are the third most successful IPL franchise. In 2012 and 2014, they won their first two IPL titles.

Eoin Morgan, an Irish cricketer who played in the IPL last year, was the Kolkata Knight Riders’ captain. However, Shreya Iyer will take over as Captain of the KKR in 2023 due to a management board decision.

Lucknow Super Giants

Captain – KL Rahul

The cricketer will serve as the captain of the Lucknow Super Giants, the second new club to be introduced this season in the Indian Premier League (IPL). With four consecutive World Cup appearances, KL Rahul has established himself as one of cricket’s most reliable batters.

Rajasthan Royals

Captain – Sanju Samson

Generally speaking, the Rajasthan Royals performed well. A solid first-choice playing 11 was their goal, and they successfully achieved it. A purchase of Prasidh Krishna for ten crores was RR’s most costly purchase at the Auction. All of their purchases, except his, were at a reasonable price.

Delhi Capitals

Captain – Rishabh Pant

When former India wicketkeeper-batsman Shreyas Iyer suffered an injury during the previous season, he was named captain of the Delhi Capitals’ team. It’s been a long road for the 24-year-old Delhi player, who’s gone from strength to strength.

Official Website Click Here
DMER Homepage Click Here

1 thought on “IPL teams 2023 names, captains and strength analysis”

Leave a Comment