IPL Purple Cap 2023 batsman name, runs, list, prize money

The Purple Cap is given to the player who has gathered the most wickets in cricket. After capturing a record-equaling 32 wickets in the IPL last year, Harshal Patel was crowned champion in a single edition of the event. While many others have won the IPL Purple Cap more than once, only Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Dwayne Bravo have done so.

IPL Purple Cap 2023

It was Sohail Tanvir who was the first bowler to be given the Purple Cap, and it was during the 2008 season, he did so after taking 22 wickets in 11 matches. For the first time in the game’s history, Dwayne Bravo has taken the most wickets in a single edition. Bhuvneshwar Kumar became the first bowler to win the Purple Cap in consecutive seasons in the history of the Indian Premier League.

ipl purple cap

Purple Caps are awarded to bowlers who have taken the most wickets in the competition. On the day of the season’s final, the bowler who had taken the most wickets overall after the competition was awarded the real Purple Cap trophy. It would be given to the bowler who had the superior economic rate if there was a tie in the final standings.

Purple Cap Rules 2022

  • The player who takes the most wickets in the Indian Premier League gets the award.
  • As part of the Purple Cap award, the bowler with the most significant number of wickets in the previous season is recognized.
  • If there is a tie for first place, the award goes to the bowler with the highest economic rate.

Purple Cap Winners List

Sohail Tanvir was presented with the Purple Cap award during the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008. With 22 wickets throughout the tournament, the Pakistan left-arm seamer had an astounding average of 12.09 wickets per match, which was the most in the competition.

Rank Player Team Wickets Overs
1 Kuldeep Yadav DC 3 4
2 Dwayne Bravo CSK 3 4
3 Basil Thampi MI 3 4
4 Murugan Ashwin MI 2 4
5 Umesh Yadav KKR 2 4
6 Khaleel Ahmed DC 2 4
7 Mohammed Siraj RCB 2 4
8 Rahul Chahar PBKS 1 4
9 Varun Chakaravarthy KKR 1 4
10 Arshdeep Singh PBKS 1 4
11 Mitchell Santner CSK 1 4
12 Tymal Mills MI 1 3
13 Harshal Patel RCB 1 4
14 Andre Russell KKR 1 4
15 Wanindu Hasaranga RCB 1 4
16 Akash Deep RCB 1 3

First to get the Purple Cap award was former left-arm fast bowler RP Singh, who got it during the 2009 season of the Indian Premier League after taking 23 wickets at a strike rate of 15.50. Singh was the first Indian cricketer to receive this honor.

Bravo and Bhuvneshwar Kumar are the only cricketers to have won the Purple Cap award consecutively twice. While Bravo received the Purple Cap in 2013 and 2015, Kumar received it in 2016 and 2017.

The Indian Premier League has given awards to players including Lasith Malinga, Morne Morkel, Mohit Sharma, Andrew Tye, Imran Tahir, and Kagiso Rabada.

In the 14th season of the Indian Premier League, Harshal Patel was given the Purple Cap award for his outstanding performance. The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) pacer collected 32 wickets in 2022, earning him the Purple Cap award as the finest bowler in the world that year. Harshal and Dwayne Bravo, who took 32 wickets for the Mumbai Indians in the 2013 IPL season, are tied for the most wickets in a single league season.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who won the most Purple Caps in the IPL?
The award has been won by Indian bowlers five times in the past 14 seasons, while Chennai Super Kings bowlers have won it four times in the past 14 seasons.

Who won the IPL Purple Cap in 2022?
Royal Challengers Bangalore fast bowler Harshal Patel won the Purple Cap after taking 32 wickets, equaling Dwyane Bravo’s record of 32 wickets claimed in one season.

Where can I get a Purple Cap in the IPL?
Each season, the highest wicket-taker is rewarded in the IPL. Since the first season of the Indian Premier League in 2008, the Purple Cap has been presented to the leading wicket-taker.

In IPL, what is the significance of purple caps?
After IPL 2019, the Purple Cap will be awarded the bowler with the most dismissals. This trophy will rotate among bowlers as the season advances before being presented to the top wicket-taker at the end of the tournament.

Official Website Click Here
DMER Homepage Click Here

Leave a Comment