Countries in Soviet Union – USSR Countries List & Status

Russian troops have invaded Ukraine’s coast. Russian shelling has caused casualties and deaths, according to Reuters. Currently, the biggest unanswered question of the current geopolitical event is the motivations of Vladimir Putin. Putin’s actions appear to support the assumption that reclaiming former Soviet Union territory is Putin’s goal. The Russian leader’s own words support this claim. Here you will get information on the Countries in Soviet Union.

Countries in the Soviet Union

After the Soviet Union collapsed in 1991, the post-Soviet bloc is believed to have consisted of between fifteen and twenty sovereign states. They are called the near abroad (Russian: blizhneye zarubezhye; romanized: blizhneye sovetskiy), a name from the near abroad.

There was no question that the Russians were viewed as the prime successor state to the Soviet Union during the Cold War. The Ukrainian SSR and the Soviet Union have also declared Ukraine their successors, whose properties are still uncertain.

European Union officials have called on post-Soviet nations to ratify Association Agreements with their Union. They argued that they were continuations of the original Baltic states before the Soviet Union’s annexation in 1940 by claiming their independence between March and May 1990. After declaring their independence, they declared their independence from the Soviet Union. CIS started as a group of 13 non-Baltic states, and most of those states joined the Collective Security Treaty Organization. In contrast, the Baltic states focused on EU membership and NATO membership.

USSR Countries List & Status

Soviet Socialist Republics, which existed from 1922 to 1991, was a socialist nation. From the Baltic to the Pacific, it lies on more than 22,402,200 sq km (8,649,500 sq mi), making it the largest country in the world by area. With a population of 100 nationalities living within its borders and 11 of the world’s 24 time zones, Moscow is the capital. While the USSR was nominally a federation of multiple national republics, its economy and government were highly centralized in its final years.
Union of Soviet Socialist Republics was established in 1922 through an agreement between Russia, Ukraine, Belarus, and Transcaucasus (modern Georgia, Armenia, and Azerbaijan).

Countries in Soviet Union

In 1917, the Russian Revolution gave rise to the USSR. On the territory of the former Russian Empire, the Bolsheviks created a socialist state. A bloody civil war lasted for many years in the following years. “We have entered a new era,” Gorbachev announced on Christmas Day 1991, and the Soviet Union was dismantled. Gorbachev resigned. USSR collapsed for a variety of reasons.

According to historians, the reforms Mr Gorbachev carried out, including glasnost and perestroika, would eventually accelerate the Soviet Union’s demise. Glasnost, which began in the late 1980s, aimed to make government more transparent. Perestroika included economic reforms to revive the struggling economy. However, the result of these reforms was the emergence of more shortages and economic hardship, which ultimately led to the breakup of the Soviet Union.

USSR Countries List 2023

The Soviet leader announced at the United Nations in December 1988 that half a million men would be cut from Soviet armed forces and tens of thousands of tanks would be removed from eastern Europe. USSR’s mismanaged finances exposed it to external factors like fluctuating oil prices. Additionally, poverty-stricken living standards were another factor to consider, in addition to rampant defence spending.

After the Soviet Union loosened control over military affairs, neighbouring Warsaw Pact countries sought more autonomy. These developments occurred following the fall of communist regimes in countries like Czechoslovakia, Poland, Hungary, Romania, and Bulgaria. The Berlin Wall fell as well as the reunification of Germany. In 1991, Ukraine gained its independence following the collapse of the Soviet Union.

There were already many independent states shown in various colours above, and many more were to proclaim independence after long periods of unrest and rebellion.

The following is a list of the major regions that separated from the USSR:

USSR Subdivision Present Day Country Seceded from the USSR
Estonian SSR Estonia 8 May 1990
Lithuanian SSR Lithuania 11 March 1990
Latvian SSR Latvia 4 May 1990
Azerbaijan SSR Azerbaijan 30 August 1991
Georgian SSR Georgia 9 April 1991
Russian SFSR Russian ederation 12 December 1991
Uzbek SSR Uzbekistan 31 August 1991
Moldavian SSR Moldova 27 August 1991
Ukrainian SSR Ukraine 24 August 1991
Byelorussian SSR Belarus 10 December 1991
Turkmen SSR Turkmenistan 27 October 1991
Armenian SSR Armenia 21 September 1991
Tajik SSR Tajikistan 9 September 1991
Kazakh SSR Kazakhstan 16 December 1991
Kirghiz SSR Kyrgyzstan 31 August 1991


DMER Homepage Click Here

1 thought on “Countries in Soviet Union – USSR Countries List & Status”

Leave a Comment